A few new ‘Worship’ artists you need to get to know…

January 8, 2008

I take great joy in tracking down new worship songs, as it provides for me new opportunities – fresh words – to worship God with privately, and sometimes new tunes to guide our youth upon a path towards seeing God more fully. Here are a few of my more exciting discoveries over the past few months:


Ian McIntosh – Awakened
Though the c.d. is a bit too mellow over-all for my tastes, “Such Beauty” is an absolute masterpiece. Fred, didn’t you show me this song last year? Either way – I was immediately taken with it. It may not be very useful corporately, but it is beautiful.


Michael Gungor – All I need is Here

Though most don’t know it, Michael co-wrote “Friend of God”, but don’t expect to find ANYTHING like that on here. The best comparison would be David Crowder, but only because they’re both so creative. My favorites are “Giving it All“, “Ancient Skies” & “Fly“.

Daniel Doss Band – God in Me E.P.

If this is their E.P., I’m looking for the full-length. Be sure to check out “Great God“, but the other’s aren’t bad either!
Lastly, I hope to have something of my own in this box before too long. Recording has been a slow process, but I’m really pleased with the results so far, and God has been inspiring in me a flood of creativity, and I’ve been writing almost nightly. Even this morning I worshiped God with a new song. That puts a smile on my face, and I think it put a smile on God’s face as well. I can’t wait to share it with the rest of you.

Amen.

3 Responses to “A few new ‘Worship’ artists you need to get to know…”

  1. klampert said

    yeah man…I have been draggin my feet in buying a few of those..but wont do that much more.

    cant wait for your CD or mine for that matter. lol

  2. Kevin E. said

    Ian is basically the best! He is my Male Artist of the year!

  3. fmckinnon said

    Ian is way cool – yeah, I shared it with you, or you most likely heard El Ben making a hubbub about it over at TheWorshipCommunity.Com

    Thks!
    Fred

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

