Worship God ’08 Report pt. 4: Main Sessions 3, 4 & 5

August 7, 2008

Now, I’ll admit right off that though I’ve gotten a great deal out of his blog, and have also profited greatly from reading his books, I’ve never found Mark Dever to be a very engaging speaker.  Add to that the fact that he was given the monumental task of showing how the Psalms related to Jesus in “GLORIFYING CHRIST WITH THE PSALMIST“, I’m sad to admit that this was the session I got the least out of.  It was much closer to an “introductory overview” than a sermon, and was almost more content than I could take in during a session.  I did find one reminder encouraging, and that is that the example that the Psalms give of simultaneously acknowleging our sadness in the midst of times of suffering, while showing us how to remember God’s past goodness, and resting in the work he has done in the saints who have come before us.

David Powlison, who spoke on “ENDURING TRIALS WITH THE PSALMIST”, was almost the opposite.  I have read Powlison twice now – first, one of his own books, which I gave away before I was finished, and second in a chapter in “Suffering & the Sovereignty of God“: his is the only chapter I take exception to, in what is otherwise one of my favorite books of all-time.  That’s just to say, I was primed for disappointment.  I was wrong.  Powlison is a compassionate communicator, and easy to follow, and I took so many notes that it would be very hard to cover them all.  His teaching was laced with gems, as he taught through Psalm 28, eventually bringing three very helpful applications for us as worship leaders:
1.)  Remember the Minor Key
2.)  Slower tempos allow time to process
3.)  Allow for silence – a time for rest

The final main session I missed in order to catch my flight on time, sadly.  It was given by Bob Kauflin, and given my experience listening to him on other occasions during this conference, I have no doubt it was powerful.  My wife heard some of it online and said to me, “Who is this guy?!  He’s GREAT!”  I love the fact that Bob would most certainly take issue with that, pointing the glory back to God and saying “HE IS GREAT!

In review of the main sessions, of those I attended, be sure to not miss KNOWING GOD…, EXPRESSING EMOTION…, & ENDURING TRIALS.

Next, the electives…

3 Responses to “Worship God ’08 Report pt. 4: Main Sessions 3, 4 & 5”

  1. Brad Loser said

    you are much more diligent than i my friend. thanks for the detailed break down. added you on blogroll too….

  2. Shannon, thanks for sharing your thoughts. I found it interesting that our reactions to Mark Dever and David Powlison were opposite one another. There were two sessions I could have done completely without; Dr. Powlison’s was one of them. But it isn’t because of the content he shared; his message was excellent. His soft-spoken delivery just didn’t cut through my exhaustion like Dr. Dever’s or Craig Cabannis’s or Thabiti Anyabwile’s did.

  3. Someone was talking to me about this the other day…and he said “do you lead worship” and I said “when I can, yes” and he then began to lay out the many reasons of why I needed to read this book. It sounded pretty interesting…now to hear this, I have to read this soon!
    Thank-you brother.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

