Not afraid to ask the hard questions…

September 18, 2007

There is something to be said for a not shrinking back from asking the hard questions.

Today I stumbled upon an old music video.  I was there the first time it was shown in public – it was at a Film Festival in Athens, GA – the video was shown at the 40 Watt.  I think I cried.  I fought back the tears just now while watching it – and listening – again.
Here is “Resplendant” by Bill Mallonee & the Vigilantes of Love…I’ve loved this song for many years, and it doesn’t grow old.  Sit quietly and just take it all in.  Very powerful.

5 Responses to “Not afraid to ask the hard questions…”

  1. klampert said

    amazing song…that man is brilliant

  2. Billy Chia said

    Kewl vid man. Thanks for posting this.

  3. elben said

    Oh wow.

    Just…wow.

    I feel like I spent five minutes living the hardest parts of another person’s life. Boy, I love music that’ll make me feel something like that one did, even if it was kind of depressing.

    Also, thanks for your comment, btw.

  4. elben said

    I just listened to it again.

    “…yes and I will run the distance if you’ll please excuse my crutch.”

  5. Dear Shannon Lewis (Lee51673 on xanga),

    Thank you for your kind comment on my Xanga blog. It must rank as one of the most gracious rebuffs I have ever received from anyone with regard to my views of Christian Hedonism. The tone and intent of the message are genuinely appreciated. The tone, because it is loving (something I keep striving for myself and so often missing), the content, because you cared enough to bother to offer the rebuff.

    I would gather from your post that you have taken from Piper’s work that we should be joyful in the Lord. With this sentiment I agree. Obviously, I would disagree with his thesis that we should be actively pursuing pleasure (from any source) as our highest priority, as this is not a better goal than pursuing God, holiness, love, and a host of other “pursuits” which are literally commanded in the Word (the ‘pursuit of pleasure’ not being a literal command in any passage of Scripture).

    It is my sincere hope that disagreement around the theology of Christian Hedonism (or other doctrines for that matter) would not keep us from enjoying Christian fellowship should ever we meet on this planet. Only the best from the Lord to you, brother.

    In Christ’s Service,
    Craig W. Booth – thefaithfulword.org

Leave a Reply

