Ahhhhhh…

October 4, 2007

I’m back from the St. Simons Community Church staff retreat, and though I had to leave a day early (I’m part-time there, and I missed 3 days last week of my other job due to illness, so I needed to play catch-up), I have not felt so spiritually refreshed in a long time, which was needed, as you can tell by my last blog. I felt so appreciated, and enjoyed my extended quiet times, journaling, incredible food, and the great fellowship with the other staff. We shared stories that people should probably never hear, and both laughed and cried. One of the most moving times was worshiping together in the new building, which the church plans to move into in January/February. Two words: “overwhelming responsibility” – we’ve been blessed, and we need to step up to the bat to do what He’s called us to with this facility.

Another ‘ahhhhh’, however, while on staff retreat I stumbled upon a copy of “Many Waters” by Madeliene L’Engle, the 4th in the ‘Wrinkle in Time’ series, and I read most of it in one sitting yesterday morning. What a GREAT book, even if it was marketed to teens! I’m sad, yet happy to discover that she went to meet the Lord just a little less than a month ago. She was very personable, and I’m sad I never met her (I have college friends that have stayed at her house for weeks at a time), but I’ve been truly blessed by a great number of her books, and the Time Quintet will be right next to the Chronicles of Narnia, the Space Trilogy, and the Lord of the Rings series on Kenimer’s bookshelf when he gets older.

I hope you all are having a good week as well!

2 Responses to “Ahhhhhh…”

  1. Jenny F. said

    Where are y’all moving the church?

  2. To the new church building, of course! It’s on Frederica, at the old Mills Estate.
    Check out the pictures here:
    http://sscommunitychurch.com/home-new_building.php

Leave a Reply

