NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Perimeter Church & Desperation Band

November 9, 2007

Sadly I don’t have time for an in-depth review, but I do want to give a heads-up on two new ‘worship’ releases.

First, a disappointment: I’ve long been a fan of the Desperation Band from New Life Church. Songs like “I am Free”, “Amazed”, “Beauty of the Lord”, and “Rescue” have been some of my most oft-used, and favorite corporate worship songs these past few years, and I even enjoyed their last c.d., though I didn’t end up using anything from it in our services. That said, their newest c.d., Everyone Overcome, just sounds like they’re trying too hard to ride the coat-tails of Hillsong United, but with much less strong songwriting and few hooks.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s ‘okay’, but the highlight of the c.d. is a re-recording of their hit “My Savior Lives” tagged on as what seems an after-thought at the end of the disc. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I just don’t get this one.  I expect to hear better from them in the future.

On a brighter note, however, Perimeter Church out of Atlanta has finally released their debut c.d., Worship Well, and it does just that. It is a well-recorded live performance of originals, modern covers, and a number of re-worked hymns (Perimeter, it should be noted, is a PCA Presbyterian “Mega-Church” – hymns are a staple there), and I like it. It’s particularly nice to finally get to hear Laura Story’s own rendition of her excellent “Indescribable” which Chris Tomlin popularized a few years ago. Anyway, that’s the very short way of saying: it’s a good c.d., especially for those who are seeking to do the “Ancient-Modern” worship thing. Check it out on iTunes, or at the website linked above.

Bless you as you worship Him!

One Response to “NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Perimeter Church & Desperation Band”

  1. RandyS said

    Thanks so much for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

