The Soundtrack of my Year

December 20, 2007


Copeland – Eat, Sleep, Repeat

Yes, it was released in 2006, but I received it as a Christmas gift last year from my brother-n-law, McKendree, so I spent most of 2007 discovering the beauty of this release. At first, it slipped right by me almost unnoticed, yet with every ‘audible glance’ another hook would step forth, beckoning me to come – enjoy – refresh myself. Then my eyes were opened. This is by far the best music I’ve heard in YEARS.

“Eat, Sleep, Repeat” is what I’d call relaxed ‘Emo’ of sorts – very mature, and calming – even melancholic – yet with lyrics that seem somehow tense, and in places even neurotically self-conscious (hence my tagging them “Emo”).

My favorite tracks, currently, are (I’m only listing the ones I can put on repeat eternally on my iPod): “Where’s my Head”, “Eat, Sleep, Repeat” (WOW – the chorus of this one is PERFECT), “Control Freak”, “Careful Now”, “I’m safer on an Airplane”, “By my Side”, “I’m a sucker for a kind Word” (another chorus that just carries me away), & “When you thought you’d never stand Out”. Let’s just say that I covet these fellow’s songwriting abilities.

I imagine they would appeal to fans of Switchfoot, Anberlin, Luxury, maybe Further Seems Forever, or those fans of ‘Christians-in-a-band’ who don’t like ‘Christian bands’ – you know who you are. Whatever your tastes, this c.d. is worth checking out. Again, don’t expect it to slap you upside the head – it’s a ‘gentleman’ of a disc, and you must invite him in kindly, drinking in every sound, and pondering every lyric. It may not be love at first sight, but trust me – it will be true love.

If you’re interested, here is an interesting interview with Aaron Marsh, the front man of Copeland.

One Response to “The Soundtrack of my Year”

  1. sam weaver said

    amen brother! you should also check out copeland’s first two full-length records, ‘beneath medicine tree’ and ‘in motion’. my absolute favorite band in the world. cheers!
    -sam

Leave a Reply

