RESOLVED!: Jonathan Edwards style…

January 3, 2008

Kudo’s to my friend Matt Harmon for the idea of publishing my New Year’s resolutions in ‘Jonathan Edwards style’…

Matt wrote, “Jonathan Edwards wrote a list of 70 resolutions between 1722-23 (at the ripe age of 19-20!) that he wanted to shape his life.” Edwards’ list can be seen HERE.

Personally, my resolutions will be a bit more practical and direct than were his, but some of his were so good that I may just reword a few of them for my own use.

RESOLVED!: Jonathan Edwards style…

1. Resolved, to do things that I believe will most glorify God, and give me the greatest joy in God, this coming year.

2. Resolved, to let my “yes mean yes” and my “no mean no” as often as possible, setting aside unnecessary sarcasm, particularly when it may hurt the feelings of others, or lead them to lose respect for or trust in me.

3. Resolved, for the sake of my own joy and peace, and the joy, peace, and blessing of God, my family, and all of those to whom I minister and minister with, to consistently seek daily time to speak with and listen to the Lord in prayer, Bible reading, and personal worship.

4. Resolved, as my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, to set aside daily time to exercise not only my mind and spirit, but also my body, eating far less junk food (particularly at work), and ultimately with the goal of glorifying God in my body by returning to a size more appropriate for my height. Goal: to lose 15 lbs by Summer, and 30 lbs by this coming December 2008.

5. Resolved, to bring myself to be reminded repeatedly of the blessings of God in my life, and order to maintain an attitude of joy and thankfulness in all circumstances.

6. Resolved, to go head-to-head with my fleshly doubts and the sins that are common to me daily and fight against them with all the power God will give me, even in my weakness.

7. Resolved, to live passionately with no regrets whatsoever.

“Being sensible that I am unable to do anything without God’s help, I do humbly entreat him, by his grace, to enable me to keep these Resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to his will, for Christ’s sake.” – Jonathan Edwards

May it be so!

2 Responses to “RESOLVED!: Jonathan Edwards style…”

  1. […] bookmarks tagged style RESOLVED!: Jonathan Edwards style… saved by 1 others     esmtz bookmarked on 01/03/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

